ARLIS/NA Mid-Atlantic
Caroline Backlund Professional Development Award
Deadline: January 15 (of the year of the conference)

Each year, ARLIS/NA Mid-Atlantic presents a professional development award of $500.00 to a chapter member to attend the Annual ARLIS/NA Conference. This award, named for its generous benefactor, long-time ARLIS/NA member Caroline Backlund, is intended to help members of the Mid-Atlantic chapter become more involved in ARLIS/NA at the national level. It is maintained through donations from chapter members. The chapter invites contributions in any amount, year-round.

An award applicant must have been a member of ARLIS/NA for the preceding calendar year, and must be a current, dues-paying member of ARLIS/NA Mid-Atlantic and ARLIS/NA. All ARLIS/NA Mid-Atlantic members who meet these criteria are eligible for the award. Applications are especially encouraged from those who do not have institutional funding; have never attended the national conference; will be participating in the conference as speakers or moderators; and/or serve in leadership positions in ARLIS/NA committees, divisions, and special interest groups.

The winner must submit a brief written report to the chapter’s Caroline Backlund Award Committee after the conference, and is encouraged to make a report to the chapter membership at a chapter meeting and/or through a posting on the chapter web site.


Applying is quick and easy. Each applicant for the award should submit:

  1. a letter of 250–500 words describing his or her specific role in the conference (if applicable), the benefits anticipated from conference attendance, and a description of all travel funding expected from the applicant’s institution or other sources
  2. a current résumé or CV, not to exceed two pages

Please submit applications for the Caroline Backlund Professional Development Award to the Committee Chair, Sally Sims Stokes, at on or before January 15th. To help ensure receipt, please also cc

Good luck to all applicants!


  • 2015 Megan Halsband, Reference Librarian, Library of Congress
  • 2014 Daniel Moore, Training and Library Solutions Coordinator, Atlas Systems
  • 2013 Eden Orelove, Student Library Technician, National Gallery of Art
  • 2012 Heather Slania, Director, Library and Research Center, National Museum of Women in the Arts
  • 2011 Emily Hunter, MLS student, University of Maryland
  • 2010 Kristina Keogh, Reference Librarian for the Arts, Virginia Commonwealth University
  • 2009 Stephanie Moye, Serials Librarian, Smithsonian Institution Libraries, American Art/Portrait Gallery Branch Library
  • 2008 Rebecca Cooper, Manager of Reader Services, Society of the Cincinnati, Washington D.C.
  • 2007 Anne H. Simmons, Assistant Librarian, Library and Research Center, National Museum of Women in the Arts
  • 2006 Kathy Woodrell, Reference Specialist, Decorative Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences Division, Library of Congress
  • 2005 Lucie Stylianopoulos, Information Services Librarian, Fiske Kimball Fine Arts Library, University of Virginia
  • 2004 Phyllis Graham, Librarian, American School of Classical Studies in Athens, Greece
  • 2003 Heather Ball, Art and Architecture Librarian, Art and Architecute Library, Virginia Tech